Sunday Papers 11-9-2014

IMG_1282

As in every fall and winter I’m kinda sick and kinda not and woke up with the sniffles today, so that’s fun. I also tried some Four Loco last Friday and shit, that stuff is absolutely disgusting. It’s also been a week of not going to the gym in order to give my shoulder a rest. I’m doing my exercises and the PT things it’s both an irritated AC joint issue and a frayed joint capsule (I have no idea if I’m phrasing this right, but hey, I’m not a doctor), none of which is the end of the world, but it’s an injury that needs to heal.

It’s tough not going to the gym though.

And one thing I really hate about going to a doctor in the US is that they never give you a straight answer or suggestion. It’s all vague and indirect because I guess they are afraid to get sued BUT I PREFER SOME EUROPEAN DIRECTNESS!!! If I’m not supposed to do something, fucking tell me. Don’t say, “Well, it’s your decision if you want to do XYZ…” — NO!

Anyway.

Speaking of working out, this article on strongmen is a nice little read for the weekend. This is very far from anything I’d attempt or would want to do, but it’s pretty neat.

Jeff Sharlet posts short vignettes on nightshifts on his Instagram that are collected here and here.

After listening to The Last Round interview with Mike Tyson I started reading his autobiography and both are worth it, even if you are not a boxing fan (which I’m not). Tyson was such a presence when I was younger there was no way you could not know his name. Which is crazy, if you think about it.

If you like comics and things like that, there’s a long long profile of Frank Miller on Grantland. And speaking of comics, thanks to @spinetree lending me his tablet (which for some reason refuses to charge when I plug it in), I’m finally reading The Walking Dead and let me tell ya — the comic is so much better and faster paced than the TV show. Completely different animals, those two.

Oh, and before I forget, Black Light Ascension‘s new album came out and it’s rad and you should get it.

Leave a Reply

