comment 0

Sunday Papers 9-28-2014

IMG_1211.JPG

We went to the Fair last weekend! It was the last weekend, so you can imagine that the vegetable tableau was not exactly fresh and crisp anymore. But, as always, it was fun to visit the goats, the sheep, look at the piglets and the gigantic pumpkins, and all that stuff. I’m not a fan of the rides and the food and frankly, I could do without all of that. And there’s definitely a point during the whole affair where my brain gets overloaded by the noise, heat, and masses of people and I just want to go home again. That happens after 2-3 hours, usually.

Ello is all over the place right now, but I’m not really buying that while no-ads, etc., thing. Sooner or later the shoe will drop (if it hasn’t already) and let’s face it — you need money to do stuff on the internet. Be that as it may, I snuck a peek, so if you want to lurk with me, I’m @hateworm there, as well.

I’ve never used VPN expect for work, but it’s probably also helpful if, I don’t know, you want to watch a video that some pesky people don’t want you to watch in your country of choice. The Tunnelbear is here to help.

Sometimes it’s good to have a reminder that even if you curate ‘your’ internet to be the place you want it to be, it doesn’t keep it from being a mighty creepy place, as in the case of people stealing your baby photos and posting them role-playing babies or mothers. This actually happened to a friend of ours. The world’s a weird place man.

However, it has always been, and thanks to medieval and museum Twitter accounts we can see just how weird it used to be. There’s a curated list of Museum Twitter Bots that’s fun, but my favorite historical/medieval/science Twitter accounts I highly recommend are: @theretronaut, @damienkempf, @nickculpeper, and @bibliodyssey.

Oh, and here’s a reminder that getting hit by lightning is only one of several ways to die by electrocution.

This last week has been oddly busy, but I’ve finally finished editing the next episode of It’s Unclear, so that should go up sometime next week. I forgot how tedious editing can be, especially if it’s mostly about taking out pauses, ahhs, ahems, and uhms. More than 15 minutes of that stuff adds up to A LOT of tiny snippets, let me tell you that.

Leave a Reply

