comment 0

Sunday Papers 8-31-2014 (on 9-1-2014)

MONDAY IS SUNDAY BECAUSE I HAD TO WORK ON SATURDAY!

This was just a terribly long week and I’m glad it’s over. Not much time for reading or anything. However, if you’re so busy that you’d rather be underground, you might want to think about it after reading about how difficult it actually is to keep a system of tunnels functioning, at least if you are in New York City. If you are in Russia, say, after the apocalypse, the tunnels might be your only hope, as I’ve learned playing Metro: Last Night, which is incredibly beautiful, difficult, and has a great story, based on the story Metro 2033 by Dmitry Glukhovsky.

I know everything goes through phases and right now I seem to be in the ‘getting smashed by everyone’ phase in BJJ. Again. The difference is that I think I’m getting harder to submit and my defense is getting better, but I’m just getting smashed smashed smashed. And I’m on the bottom so much that, if I get on top, my top game sucks big time. I guess I know what I need to focus on in the future, but my attacks from open and spider guard are at least getting better. Now I need to focus on some sweeps from open guard, get on top, and get comfortable there, I guess.

After my wife destroying her wallet by mistake I took the opportunity to look for a new wallet for myself, because the Tyvek wallet I’ve had for the last couple of years is starting to look terrible and, well, I think it’s maybe time for an adult wallet. So after doing some research yesterday I ordered one from Inkleaf Leather, which looks great, is reasonably priced for a handmade leather wallet, and is made in the U-ESS-AY!

Sometimes I get nervous about natural disasters and start reading about urban survival (and spent way to much time with my nose in post-apocalyptic books and video games) and now I’m frivolously putting together a Bug-Out Bag. Make fun of me all you want, but when it’s time to ask for a spare space blanket, you know where to knock.

And in kinda sad news, you can now have an Invisible Girlfriend. If that makes you feel better. I’d think it’d just make you feel a lot more lonely than you already are.

Leave a Reply

