Being sick sucks

I’m not sure what’s going on but I’m harboring the slowest cold in the world and have been for the 1 ½ weeks or so that has now blossomed into a sore throat that is already going away, but I still feel a slight soreness, so no Saturday class for me. It’s hard not go to class when I’m functional and a little sick, but this could either go away completely or develop into a full-blown cold or flu and I’d rather not take my chances. And nobody wants to roll with a fomite. So I’m sitting at home reading 77 Most Common Mistakes in BJJ and I’m guilty of oh so many.

Last Tuesday, the last day I went before getting sick, one of the brown belts rolled with me for 30 minutes, which was great. I asked him for advice about what I should work on and he said I’ve gotten better but still stiff-arm and push a lot and should try to be more deliberate with my movements, grips, etc. Easier said than done, but it’s good to have a pointer. I usually don’t feel ‘lost’, but I’m very much reacting to what my partner does and there is very little planning or setting of traps or baiting going on. No surprises there, but I did get a little floored by realizing just how much more there is to this and how little I understand. Heh, I can see why a lot of people drop out after 6 months.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to going to class again next week. It’s super-busy and stressful at work right now, so I hope there won’t be any dramarama so I can catch my bus on time and make it. If not, I’ll be a grumpy German indeed.

Leave a Reply

