comment 0

Winter is coming

Just like that the year is almost over! Last weekend was the first day where it was really sick nasty chilly and wet and rainy and we had to bundle up in the apartment and have all heaters running. The year felt like it was going by so fast when, at the same time, it didn’t.

Even though the year is not over, it’s been a big one. Both The Wife and I got jobs that are not awful, we moved into our own apartment and got settled, got a cat, I started my BJJ journey, and this place does actually start feeling like home. Looking back, I’ve moved pretty much every 5-6 years since I was 13 years old and I’m happy to have the feeling to have ‘arrived’ somewhere.

Which also means we are finally able to have a cat!

20131213-184713.jpg

Another big change this year was that I’ve pretty much completely stopped doing Savate or any kind of striking or kicking and focused 100% on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and CSW. That has become a huge rabbit hole and I’ve been going 3-5 times a week, depending on time and how the good old body is holding up, and it’s been a huge change in my life. It’s definitely not for everyone, but I love it. It’s also unfortunately been the source of a bunch on injuries which reminded me that I’m definitely not 21 anymore. And with its trademark all-consuming nature it’s become something I think about more than I’d like to admit. So no new book discoveries, no new music leads, it’s BJJ all the time.

I guess that is how hobbies work.

I guess.

Leave a Reply

