comment 0

The thing about bodies…

…is that they are surprisingly resilient yet fragile machines. Mind over matter works sometimes, for example when pushing yourself through fatigue or not panicking when getting ‘pressure cooked’ by your training partner. However, sometimes the reptile brain says ‘go roll!’ and the adult part of the brain says ‘I don’t think this is a good idea.’ and the body says ‘no!!!’

That’s what happened to me today.

I did get my full week of classes in, including the grueling boxing class I go to once a week, but I also had a very stressful week at work and had to deal with an emergency-ish situation at work just when I was about to leave yesterday. Then we had friends over for dinner who stayed pretty late. And when I woke up this morning I felt tired, dehydrated, and mentally and physically exhausted. I did get ready to go to the Saturday’s rolling class, but at the last moment decided not to go, because I was feeling exhausted and sick.

Now, I think it is a good idea to listen to your body and not go roll when I’m feeling this way. I have ignored my body before and it usually messes me up the rest of the day or even longer. I need to remind myself to take it easy from time to time and that I’m not 22 years old and that I have never consistently worked out on a daily basis until 1½ years ago. To take it a little easy, from time to time, and that that’s okay.

But then I have this nagging voice in my head now telling me that I’m making excuses and am a lazy shlup and that this is the beginning of the downward slide to not going at all anymore.

And then I get anxious and start beating myself up for not going.

Hah, so that is what’s going on in my head — the reptile brain is fighting the rest of my brain while my body simply says “Thank you for giving me a break!”

Leave a Reply

