Energy, one more time.

Because it’s pretty late at night (and probably also because the rolling nogi has a higher threshold than doing so wearing one) our CSW class is a lot smaller than the BJJ class and most evenings it’s just me and one other guy. While on the one hand we essentially have what comes down to private lessons, one thing I really enjoy about the larger BJJ classes is rolling with so many different people with many different approaches and energy. Like I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, some people’s energy is just off, but so far in nobody in the BJJ classes has given off an odd vibe. And because, at least at my level, BJJ is a lot less scramble-y than CSW there is less spazzing out in general.

Speaking of spazzing, I’ve really worked on trying to relax while rolling and stop “moving like a robot”, as my instructor said in the beginning. What helped me a lot was to roll with him and having him set the speed. In the beginning it was very hard for me to find a place between 100% and nothing, in addition to being in a position that I didn’t feel comfortable with. I’m not much of a hugger, so being squeezed by another person is not exactly my idea of a good time. I found it helped me to have someone more experienced set the pace and for me to focus on my breathing. And staying relaxed under pressure and, for lack of a better term, developing mindfulness and presence, was one of the primary reasons I started doing martial arts in the first place. So far it definitely has been a step in the right direction.

BJJ turns out to be a much deeper rabbit hole than Savate and, thinking about the stuff I dabbled in so far, CSW and BJJ are definitely giving me the most pleasure, with Savate being a close third.

Leave a Reply

