Moving further outside my comfort zone

For the last month or so we focused a lot on the basic kicks in Savate, with the result that I kept torquing my rear leg again and again and now it hurts. I’m a little worried, but at least I have figured out what caused it and went ahead and finally ordered a pair of proper Savate shoes. I wear boxing shoes, but they still have some grip and don’t allow for the sliding and shuffling you use in Savate. I’m really looking forward to trying them out.

However, while I’m waiting for my knee to stop acting up, I’m planning to attend the BJJ classes. This, like CSW, is way outside my comfort zone. Not only because it’s completely foreign to me (I never wrestled and I’ve never really watched UFC or MMA in general), but also because I really really suck at it. I have no idea what to do, get submitted by everyone in our CSW class, and have left training pretty frustrated more than once. And I really have to work on the basics, just simply relaxing while rolling and feeling comfortable. I’ve gotten better, but still…it’s frustrating to suck at something.

So I want to get better at it. I mean, come on, it can’t be that hard!

Leave a Reply

