Tired tired tired

Here’s something that snuck up on me: since moving into our new apartment I’ve been getting more and more tired despite going to bed at what I think is a reasonable hour. It feels as if fatigue slowly accumulated over the last months up to the point where I can’t ignore it anymore.

Being a German, I first went through a list of doomsday scenarios in my head (MS, thyroid problems, chronic fatigue syndrome, mononucleosis, Lyme’s Disease…), but I think using Occam’s Razor to solve the problem might be a good start: it’s too loud and bright. We have a great apartment, but it happens to be next to a pretty busy street, a lot of street lights and additional lights from an adjacent car dealership. We’ve put blinds and curtains up, but it’s still pretty bright in our bedroom, so I think light-blocking curtains will be the next step.

And earplugs.

We used to live next to a highway, but the constant hum of a highway is different than an inner city arterial, where the noise comes and goes all the time.

So, that’s the project for the next couple of weeks, which will hopefully also lead to me not feeling like a zombie anymore after I come home in the evening.

2 thoughts on “Tired tired tired

  1. I tried a sleeping mask a while back (still do when I can remember/find it), and it started working a little once I got used to something being on my face. Maybe some white noise, if the outside traffic isn’t too powerful to make it worth it?

    • Earplugs are working very well and I might get a mask, too, for good measure. I tried a mask before but I just could not get used to having something tied to my face — felt kinda claustrophobic.

Leave a Reply

