Happy Pigs

As late night bar conversations go I ended up having a longer conversation about farm animals with two friends and we got stuck on the question of how you can tell if your pig is happy. Compared to dogs or cats, for instance.

I have a little problem with these animals, specifically because I can’t read them. Is this cow happy or angry that I’m walking up to her? No idea. What about that horse? Beats me. Pigs? Forget it.

After some back and forth it became clear that neither of us had any idea. So I asked a relative and here is what he said:

Our pigs liked to race around, climb ledge, root in the dirt, scratch on trees and wallow in the mud.  If they liked to be touched, then they loved being scratched all over.  I think they’re a lot like dogs…  just not as tuned in to people!

So it seems that they ‘frolic’. Just like guinea pigs, who ‘popcorn’ when they are happy. However, there is also this, from a blog on pot belly pigs:

A quiet, hot panting: Usually the pot belly pigs way of saying “hello” or being friendly.

Which sounds…interesting.

Anyway, I doubt I’ll ever have a pot belly pig as a pet, mostly because of a bad experience I had when I was five or six years old, but it’s still an interesting question to ponder.

Especially late at night in a bar.

Leave a Reply

