comments 2

Packing…

Packing

While I am really looking forward to leaving here, there are some things that are souring this project somewhat:

  1. Leaving The Wife (temporarily).
  2. Leaving friends.
  3. Packing.

I can’t do that much about the first two, which makes them especially annoying, but the last one is something that is well within my capabilities. And boy, does it suck. It’s only a partial ‘pack’, because The Wife obviously wants to keep her things around for the next couple of months, but it’s already a little frightening to see how much stuff there is. Granted, we will get rid of a bunch of really bulky items, but still.

I’m more or less finished packing my books, which usually makes up the bulk of these projects, so now it’s really all that little stuff that is not square-ish and doesn’t fit neatly into other square things.

Books are really the worst offenders and packing them makes me wonder about those Kindles. I looked at some of them at the store and some people I know who own one love it and I have to admit that I’m much better at working through my Instapaper queue reading it on my iPod than on the computer — but I like having the physical object!

I think.

On the other hand, it would be nice, for example, to have all five volumes of George R.R. Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice in one small device rather than having all five of those doorstops taking up space on a shelf.

For example, today I got M.F.K. Fisher’s The Art of Eating in the mail and it’s a brick of a book (not the smartest thing to do when you are moving, I know) and thought: would I like this better if I had it on a Kindle? Man, I really don’t know! Now I have to shlepp this over to the West Coast.

Damn it.

2 Comments

  1. barbelo

    I bought my kindle in the middle of my last move and love the damn thing. Between that and a library card, I have quit buying hard copies that I do not absolutely have to have for work, so, yes, it contributes on that front in a real way if you let it. Also, it’s a great design for reading in bed. I just wish I had waited until the winter to get it (when they put out the newer, fancier model without the stupid keypad).
    Moving is depressing. Hang in there, you’ll feel a lot better when it’s over…

    • Yes, I was actually also thinking of you and your pile of boxes when you moved. So that thing is definitely going to be my next ‘frivolous purchase’!

Leave a Reply

