comment 0

One thing


I don’t keep up with German news anymore, but once or twice a month or go and check the websites of DIE ZEIT, the FAZ, DER SPIEGEL, sometimes (for fun) BILD, and sometimes the SZ to see if the Fatherland is still standing.

However, it’s much more fun to read a newspaper the way it’s supposed to be read: on paper. I’m somewhat old-fashioned in that regard. One of my housemates just came back from Germany and brought an issue of DIE ZEIT with him, which I finally found the time to read.

One article I liked was in the travel-section called ‘Muss mit!’, which was essentially a bunch of people writing about items that the won’t travel without and why.[1] I thought that was neat and it got me thinking: what is the one item I won’t travel without?

I think it’s my trusted espresso pot. I’m not even sure how long I had this pot, but it must’ve been about 10 or 12 years now. Whenever I went somewhere for a longer stretch and had my own place and didn’t stay in a hotel, I took it with me. The first cup of coffee in the morning is very important, so taking that little bit of home with you is a good thing.

Other than that I don’t really have anything. Let me think… nope. Maybe my notebook?

What do you take?



[1] Well, there are a whole bunch of good articles, like the one about the Jewish woman who’s an officer in the German Bundeswehr. But I’m afraid you’ve got to know German to get the inside scoop here, because I’m not going to summarize it. Boom.

Leave a Reply

