comment 0

Why is it so quiet???

Yes, why is it to quiet at The Grumpy German? You know, I’ve asked myself the same question. Over the last couple of days, I’ve drawn a blank when it came to writing about…well…about things. Reasons could be:

  1. It’s so fucking hot that my brain is dehydrated and can’t produce anything at all.
  2. Absolutely nothing of note is going on right now. Nada. (See also point 1.)
  3. I’ve watched Toy Story 3 last weekend and I still feel depressed and sorry for all the lonely toys. What the fuck, this movie is almost as bad as UP when it comes to not-feel-good movies.
  4. Lots of internal stuff, i.e. thinking and processing and percolating things in the brainbox. Not all of it fun, but it has to be done!

So, just a temporary lull, because it’s summer and it’s hot. I’m not surprised countries that have temperatures like this and no air conditioning units have trouble getting anything done.

I’ve started playing around with markdown, multimarkdown, and (yet again) LaTex, which is pretty much pushing the limits of my own nerdability, but I’m getting somewhat of a kick out of getting it to work.

And if I’m not doing that, I’m reading Hunter S. Thompson’s essay on Hippies. I’ve also been reading Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking and Scott Carrier’s Running after Antelope, both, perhaps to no surprise, turned out to be the opposite of very light summer reading.

However, fear not, there are some finished drafts sitting there ready to be published. I’ve just been a little pressed for time in the last week to actually get them to the point where they are done.

You know how it is.

Leave a Reply

