comment 0

Lover’s Morsels

Now, according to my notes this is James Beard recipe, but I couldn’t find it in his books so I had to make The Wife look for it on her computer and email it to me. Below, behold, the morsels of lovers, the first step towards the weight gain that commences once you’ve found a suitable mating partner and, by societal and cultural chains, tied him or her to your heart. And we all know that love goes through the stomach. Or at least we Germans know, hence the saying ‘Liebe geht durch den Magen.’

The back story of this recipe is that we printed it on little cards and gave them out as favors at our wedding (now, that custom was also new to me, although I think we do the same thing at German weddings). I think it was one of the first things I ate that I related directly to my wife’s family, so it’s indeed a lover’s morsel.

Seriously though, these little morsels are to die for. And rich as fuck.

Batter
1⅓ cup unsifted all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup butter
½ cup firmly packed brown sugar

Topping
2 eggs
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1½ cups grated coconut or finely chopped nuts
⅛ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla

  1. Blend batter ingredients to the consistency of cornmeal. Press the batter into an 8×10 or 9×9-inch pan. Bake in a preheated 350° F oven for 8-10 minutes.
  2. While baking the batter, prepare the topping. Beat eggs until very fluffy and then beat in sugar until it is dissolved. Fold in remaining ingredients.
  3. Spread on the partly baked batter and return to the oven for 15 more minutes or until slightly browned. While still warm, cut into squares with a greased knife.

PS: This post is dedicated to Uncle Kins, to whom I promised to send this recipe months ago.

Leave a Reply

