comments 4

The threat is real!

Can you believe that up until a few months ago I had no idea who Louis CK was? And after I’d heard the name a couple of times I thought he was a black dude. Just as I thought Richard Pryor was white until I watched a special last fall. I know, I know.

Anyway, David Icke and the lizard people from Draco are something of an old chestnut, but it never fails to amuse me. Especially because, believe it or not, according to the 6 degrees of separation I am one person removed from David Icke.

That’s a true and little known fact.

I don’t even remember how I came across him, it must’ve been in some kind of conspiracy book or article. However, every story on David Icke refers to the scene below, when he ‘came out’ on a talk show in 1991. The tricky thing with this stuff is that, on some level, it does make sense while at the same time being completely outrageous. I think it’s in Jon Ronson’sbook THEM. Adventures with Extremists where Jon answers somebody who says Icke’s lizard people are code for Jews that, “No, I think he really talks about lizards.” But that’s exactly the thing, this narrative is so dense with meaning that you can read anything into it. It’s a blurred signifier.

And Salon dug up this Jon Ronson documentaryon Icke on YouTube. Also well worth watching, if you have a minute or fifty.

4 Comments

  1. If you’re familiar with Icke, you probably also know of Michael Tsarion and Graham Hancock? Of the three, Hancock is the most sane-sounding of the three (only postulates a progenitor civilisation, not making any claims about reptoids as far as I know), but they’re all pretty damn thought-provoking.

      • DGS

        He he, true. I have to check those other two guys out. I guess these are all different ways of making sense of ‘reality’ and as long as they are consistent and internally logical they are in some ways difficult to contradict, right?

  2. Pingback: A handy guide for psychopath watchers | ikners.com

Leave a Reply

