Some theoretical stuff on bread

While I couldn’t care less about how some things work, I’m really interested in others. Cooking and backing is one of the things I am interested in. Here’s a TED talk by Peter Reinhart, who also wrote The Bread Baker’s Apprentice, a terribly intimidating book I got last Christmas. I have some bread recipes that I use and am happy with, but that book is the real shit and I can feel my anxieties crawling up my back just thinking about it. But fuck it, I will make some bread using that book this year, even if some recipes need 3 days to do!

And I still want to learn / figure out how to make proper German bread because, I hate to say it, but you Americans with your soft breads and soft cookies and soft drinks and soft everything — you people need some Europe in your diet!

Leave a Reply

