Get your hands off my granola!

Don’t let The Man touch your granola! Seriously, this is the hippie shit par excellence, so buying it from a supermarket is, what, sucking up to the machine? Aside from the ideological baggage, buying granola is a fucking money dump and then you might still not know how much processed shit is in there. So I started looking around for granola recipes and just tried the first one I found (I mean, come on, making granola is not exactly rocket science) on Free Range Living, who has a bunch of other tasty looking recipes on it.

I hate maple syrup, so I did not use it and added that much honey instead, because I dig honey. I also cut the entire recipe in half, because I don’t have that much space.

I also wrote down the wrong temperature and somewhat burned my first batch. Still tasty though.

GRANOLA

¼ cup brown sugar
1 cup honey
½ cup canola oil
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
¾ teaspoons salt
½ tablespoon vanilla
4 cups rolled oats
½ cup wheat germ
½ cup sesame seeds
1 ½ cups chopped nuts (any combination of pecans, almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts and/or sunflower seeds)
1 cups dried fruit (any combination of dried cranberries, blueberries, cherries, raisins, apricots, etc.)

  1. Heat oven to 325ºF.
  2. Combine the first 7 ingredients in a medium saucepan and bring just to the boil. Place remaining ingredients (except the dried fruit) in a large bowl and stir to mix. Pour syrup over dry ingredients and stir until well mixed.
  3. Divide between two (greased) baking sheets and bake for about 20 minutes or until lightly brown (stirring halfway through).
  4. Let cool slightly before stirring in the dried fruit. Store in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

