comment 1

Hippies putting a Hex on Hitler

Well, maybe calling them hippies goes a bit too far, but hippies or not, LIFE posted some fascinating photos from 1941, chronicling a hex designed to destroy Adolf Hitler — sounds like hippie shit to me!

According to LIFE, the party featured “a dressmaker’s dummy, a Nazi uniform, nails, axes, tom-toms and plenty of Jamaica rum,” and was inspired by a book by occultist and writer William Seabrook that was popular at the time: Witchcraft: Its Power in the World Today.

LIFE has some great photo series anyway and there are some gold nuggets in this online collection of portfolios. Now, I have a interest for stuff like this, so I can barely contain my excitement. I love photos and ephemera that document the undercurrents of magic, occultism, and plain wackiness that underlie the normative rational frame of the Western world. The world is full of kooks, magicians, occultists, conspiracy nuts, and other fringe characters that perceive and interpret a sometimes radically different version of reality (current case in point would be the tea-bagging patriots) and who also understand individual agency in a different way. So, I don’t know, I get a kick out of that stuff, although that does not mean I agree with them and that they are not beyond really pissing me off.

Lords of Chaos (book)

Image via Wikipedia

In other bookish news,  I’ve just finished Lucifer Rising by Gavin Baddeley, which is a fun read. Something of a Schweinsgalopp through the history or Satanism & Rock Music with a heavy LaVeyian bend, which I don’t mind at all. I’ve never really read anything by Anton LaVey and I think I should change that soon. My project of replenishing my library is going well, I finally got my hands on Lords of Chaos and another one of Feral House‘s latest publications, Love Sex Fear Death. The Inside Story of The Process Church of the Final Judgment. The Process has been on my radar for more than a decade and I’ve never really spent any time really looking into what they were all about.

Timothy Wyllie

Image by the_toe_stubber via Flickr

It got fucking cold here within, what, the 10 days of autumn that we had here and now it’s wintertime already. It doesn’t smell like snow outside, yet, but it can only be a matter of days. Man, I hate this climate…

Oh, and by the way, the dude in the picture is not me, it’s the author. Just so you know.

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

