What We Attended/Read/Saw/Listened to (∴WWARSL∴) v.1

It’s really been two insanely busy weeks, so I thought I’d create an extra category for the times when life just fucking happens and it’s easier to write one big semi-personal post after the fact. Because, fuck, I don’t even know what day it is today…

One thing I can’t stop listening to right now are the Master Musicians of Bukkake, which, despite the terrible name, is an awesome awesome band. The debut is very hard to get into and didn’t really win me over, but Totem 1 & 2 are amazing. Very cool ritualistic noise craziness!

The Wife and I also went to a show to see Hour of 13, Nightbitch, and Black Pyramid. All very nice, although only Hour of 13 really went on heavy rotation on my iPod afterwards. I got to say though that while I kinda like going to shows, I’m not a 100% fanatic concert goer. I know, I’m an old fart. Where’s my sippy cup?

And finally, I have to admit that I quite enjoy listening to The Blood of Heroes, which is apparently a project composed of Justin Broadrick and Bill Laswell.

∴∴∴

As I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, I got back into the groove by watching Kenneth Anger movies and ordered Lucifer Rising (the book, not the movie) and now it’s sitting on my bookshelf, waiting to be read. Unfortunately, I’ve been sucked into Joe Haldeman‘s Worlds trilogy, so I think I have to finish that one before I can think of anything else. At their core, Haldeman’s stories are love stories and The Forever War is probably the best example. Which is nice, I like reading nice stories, you know. And I had no idea that there is a genre called ‘military science fiction‘, but here you go. Kinda fun. In a nerdy way.

∴∴∴

Very much looking forward to watching season 5 of Dexter. To fill the time and somewhat for the heck of it I started watching Oz, which is…I don’t know, I haven’t made up my mind yet. I guess it’s kinda cool, but I don’t really see where it is going…whole bunch of guys in a prison — and for what, 5 or 6 seasons??? I think I became aware of the show because Peter Steele appeared in one episode and it was mentioned on an eulogy somewhere…

∴∴∴

Also, as you might nor might have not noticed, I’ve changed my logo/profile picture — I think a magick bunny is much more appropriate than a bald and unshaven South Park avatar, that, quite frankly, looks nothing like me.

Leave a Reply

