Well, stew you, too!

Since her recent visit to the Fatherland The Wife decided that not eating meat is for losers and started eating it again. This doesn’t mean that we gorge ourselves on meat, because, fucking hippies that we are, we get our meat from Whole Foods, and you know what? Meat is fucking expensive!

So anyway, I decided to make my first meat recipe! Yep, you read that right: I never cooked with meat before. I have an angsty relationship with it, because it’s expensive and I don’t want to fuck it up, because I don’t know the intricacies of cooking with meat and I don’t want to spend a ton of money and then end up with a very expensive shitty meal. It’s a hen-and-egg dilemma. I have the same problem with fish, by the way.

Like every other immigrant I own James Beard’s American Cookery, which is an awesome cookbook and you should be ashamed of yourself if you don’t own it. I wanted to make lamb stew, but the lamb was too expensive, so I got beef. Same difference, I guess. It was delicious. as barbeloh can attest. Here’s the recipe, which, by the way, goes very well with Old Chub Scotch Ale from Oscar Blues Brewery:

3-3½ pound of lamb shoulder or leg cut into 1½ cubes (I took 3 pounds beef — worked fine)
Flour
3 tbs. oil
4 tbs. butter
Boiling water
1 tbs salt
6 medium small onions (cut into quarters)
3 large carrots, halved or 6 small carrots
3-4 young turnips, cut in quarters
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 tsp thyme
12 small new potatoes, boiled till just tender
2 pounds freshly cooked peas or 1 package frozen peas, cooked
¼ cup chopped parsley
1 tsp. freshly ground pepper

  1. dredge the meat cubes in the flour and brown small batches in the hot oil & butter (add more oil & butter if needed)
  2. transfer the meat to a heavy kettle or dutch oven
  3. rinse the pan with enough boiling water to cover the meat and add to the pot
  4. stir in the salt and bring to a boil
  5. reduce heat and let simmer for about 1 hour
  6. add onions, carrots, turnips, garlic, and thyme.
  7. continue cooking until the meat is tender and the veggies are cooked through
  8. now let it stand overnight and the next morning (or evening) skim off excess fat (which I didn’t do. I guess lamb has more fat than beef, so this might not really apply for beef…)
  9. add potatoes and bring to a boil again
  10. stir in the cooked peas
  11. add pepper & parsley
Leave a Reply

