comment 0

Scorpio Rises! Leather! Bikes! Mustard!

Scorpio Rising (film)

Image via Wikipedia

Pretty neat evening a couple of days ago with barbeloh and The Wife, watching and (partly re-watching) some Kenneth Anger: Lucifer Rising, Scorpio Rising, and The Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome. A pretty mixed bag. I have watched Lucifer Rising before, years and years ago, and it’s still weird. Very dense with symbolism. Inauguration…, however, is pushing it a little for me, although the last 10 minutes are quite something. The one that really surprised me, though, was Scorpio Rising, which turned out to be completely different from what I expected. I think you should go into the experience unprepared, but as a pointer: I think Boyd Rice took a lot of inspiration from this 25+ minute film.

Watching these movies, though, reminded me of my occulture reading list that I started more than fifteen years ago and which stalled somewhat around 2004ish for a number of reasons. Now, going through my bookshelf, I feel like re-reading a lot of that stuff and picking up some new books again. I still kick myself for getting rid of my Aleister Crowley collection 4 years ago in an attempt to cut of my past and start anew (we all know how that kind of thing works out…).

Watch Scorpio Rising after the jump (NSFW).

Leave a Reply

