comment 0

Woodpecker

I had a dream last night where a 6-feet-tall bright blue woodpecker beat me up. He was involved in an elaborate mating dance with a female woodpecker, who looked kind of like an owl but was bright blue, too, when I came out of the house and walked in on them. Mind you, there was no in flagranti moment, just these weird ritualistic things birds to for 15 hours before they rub on each other for 3 seconds. They didn’t really see me, so I and some friend whose face or name I don’t remember started picking on them. I think. My memory is a little vague on this, but I do remember that the male woodpecker pulled a nasty judo move on me and I remember thinking “whoa, he’s really strong!”

Then I woke up.

What the fuck does that mean? I have to say that I rarely dream, which I think mostly has to do with the time I need to get up during the week, which is not in my remember-the-dream-phase of sleeping. I remembered a ton of them when I was working in a nursing home and had to get up at 4:30am to be there on time. So maybe that’s my time. Generally, aside from the fact that it’s FUCKING EARLY, I loved going to work at that time, because the streets are all empty and driving is really relaxing, especially in the winter.

And after I told barbeloh about the woodpecker this he sent me this:

Leave a Reply

