The Forever War

Alright, first one of William Gibson’s recommended books (earlier post), The Forever War by Joe Haldeman, is DONE. The funny thing about Sci-Fi from the 1960s and 70s is that there is usually a lot of fucking and drugs. But be that as it may, I liked this book. It’s a quick read and it took me about two days to get through, but I found it really enjoyable. I don’t want to give anything away, but let me just say that thinking about the implications of vessels traveling at light speed and/or through wormholes messes with my head. Some part of my brain gets that people on the ship age differently than the ones left behind, but another part of my brain simply short-circuits and goes WTF?

Man, I have to admit that I was kinda sad when the book was finished. There isn’t that much going on in terms of character development, etc., but the scope and the imagination really pulled me in. If you are looking for some (relatively) light and quick Sci-Fi summer reading, get this one.

Do it.

P.S. I made the mistake to watch Pandorum yesterday. Don’t.

P.P.S. Okay, you might think it’s lame that I’m not giving you a little more in terms of a review, but I read the book not knowing anything and what more do you need to know than I liked it? Take a fucking chance, will ya?

Leave a Reply

