comments 3

UP is quite a downer

Because I had such a fucked up week the Wife and I figured we’d watch something fun and started looking around on Netflix and settled on UP. It’s animated, it’s PIXAR, and it’s Disney – what could go wrong? Some safe laughs, a nice ending with guaranteed closure that leaves you with the fuzzy feeling that the world is a beautiful place. It’s Disney, for fuck’s sake.

So, I’m sorry, I don’t want to spoil the movie for you, but this movie got me crying in the first ten minutes. It’s like Bambi times ten (you should know the scene I’m talking about. If not, you’re lucky and got spared some major childhood trauma.), only with humans.

What. The. Fuck.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good movie, but do NOT watch it if you are feeling down anyway and are looking for a sugar-coated pick-me-up. I mean, I’m the kind of person who avoids watching any news connected with the BP oil spill, because it brings me down and don’t even get me started on the hurricanes that will spill the fucking oil all over the place.

Or the fucking pelican.

Now I’m going to eat as many lobster rolls and crab cakes as I can before hurricane season and that’s it.

3 Comments

  1. barbeloh

    don’t get me started on lobster rolls. Here’s hoping Sam the Clam’s is still doing ok when I get back…

    • DGS

      If not, we usually go to the Clam Castle, which has good, chunky lobster rolls. The Wife ate a softshell crap there recently, which was…interesting.

  2. Pingback: Why is it so quiet??? « The Grumpy German

Leave a Reply

