comment 0

End of the Year Synopsis

2007 is dragging itself into its grave and this time of the year is usually a time of reflection. It is also a time of lists, best albums, best gadgets, best whatever. So I’ll do a bit of both. What did I do this year?

  1. Well, I started writing a blog on a regular basis, and that’s something of an accomplishment. So, thanks to you, the readers, for dropping by!
  2. I’m finishing my studies now, well, I’m in the middle of the process at the moment, and had my written exam in the week before Christmas. One third is done, two more to do. I’m getting there.
  3. I grew a beard and am happy with it.
  4. I met the significant someone you meet only once in your life and want to spend the rest of it with.
  5. Current 93 finally released an album that I just couldn’t get enough of: Black Ships Ate The Sky.
  6. I got my hands on some of Neil Gaiman‘s Sandman comic books and understand why they are regarded as being so awesome. They were so expensive that I never got around buying them, but as it turns out one of my neighbors owns a bunch and I’m happily borrowing them.
  7. Many things in my life got sorted out and I came out as a better person. I can breathe more freely now.
  8. I found out that people attending Ivy League schools are also just humans.
  9. Lost some friends, found some new.
  10. Pfff, what else? Any good books? Well, I can’t say that I didn’t read a bunch, but this year I had to read most of them for work, not for pleasure, so I can’t really answer that question. However, enjoyed Louise Erdrich‘s Tracks and Love Medicine. Hemingway’s short stories was also good. And I also got a brick of a book called ‘We Tell Ourselves Stories in Order to Live‘, which is Joan Didion‘s collected nonfiction. Oh, and of course, Hunter S. Thompson‘s collected letters! Do yourself a favor and get one of those books. I was looking for something to read on a transatlantic flight and picked the second volume on a whim, which covers the period when he wrote Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas and Fear & Loathing on the Campaign Trail ’72. Now the first volume is sitting next to my bed waiting to be read.
  11. I started baking my own bread.
  12. I watched Twin Peaks and still consider it one of the best TV series ever. But that might also be connected to the fact that I ate some cherry pie myself at the R & R Cafe in Snoqualmie, WA this year.
  13. I shot a gun.
  14. I learned to trust my gut-feeling more. It’s usually right.
  15. I ate my first oyster. (Won’t be the last!)

I think I’m a happier person than I was this time of the year a year ago. And that’s a good thing, right? So I hope you will stick around for the next year, too. Well, I guess that’s all I can think of right now. I’m sure there’s more, but isn’t there always? So, on that note:

Best and see you on the other side!

Dave

Leave a Reply

