comment 1

Back Online!

Finally! After 7+ weeks of no internet access we finally got back online. I get kicked out of the net every 45min or so, but at least I’m online and with decent connection speed at that. However, I’m in the midst of my orals right now, so while I’ll resume posting regularly, I probably won’t be able to post everyday.

The last few weeks have been somewhat uneventful. As I said, I studied a lot and spend a lot of time at my desk, reading stuff. On that front, not having internet access could be counted as a plus. It is grey and rainy here, if not too cold, but this combination still makes for bouts of depression every time I look out of the window and onto the skeletal tree. I went on vacation for two weeks, as I wrote in the last post, and it was neat! I went to Connecticut to visit my significant other and we had a great time. We visited Mystic Seaport, which is a great day-trip if you happen to be into boats and whaling and fishing. I’m not saying that I am, but crawling around in the guts of a whaler was something. (Not that I support the whaling industry, mind you!)

Anyhow, this is something I came across which is neat. I’m not really into insects, but the steampunk-aspect of building cyporgs using cogwheels does appeal to me. So combine the two and what do you get? Right! Insect Robots! Insect Lab does exactly that and they are a joy to look at!

mechanical bug

(picture taken from Insect Lab)

There are a number of other insects, ranging from bugs to bees, so pay them a visit.

1 Comment so far

Leave a Reply

