comment 0

Trip to New York

Yesterday I boarded the dreaded MetroNorth and drove to New York. I don’t know what it is, but riding the train doesn’t appeal to me at all. Nada. I know some people really enjoy it, relax, read, look out of the window. Well, I kind of do the same thing, but I’m still bored out of my gourd. And what makes the MetroNorth especially unappealing is the fact that the wagons are probably in service since back in the days when you were allowed to smoke on the train. Everything is of a slightly greyish-beige color, the seats bumped in by thousands of butts.

Anyway, going to New York always recharges my batteries and I saw the Stephen Shore exhibition at the Center of Photography. The Wikipedia entry states that

[h]is career began at the early age of fourteen, when he made the precocious move of presenting his photographs to Edward Steichen, then curator of photography at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). Recognizing Shore’s talent, Steichen bought three of his works. At age seventeen, Shore met Andy Warhol and began to frequent Warhol’s studio, the Factory, photographing Warhol and the creative people that surrounded him. In 1971, at the age of 24, Shore became the second living photographer to have a solo exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

His pictures of the American landscape really impressed me with their wide open skies and the composition of the image, which rarely feature people. Another point I really liked, and that I like in general, is the texture of pictures taken in the early seventies. On Jay’s Movies you can find a documentary on Shore and his work.

Leave a Reply

