Mead

To continue the experiments, I thought I’d try making mead, which is apparently one of the easiest things to make and while I, as usual, don’t like mead (it’s way to sweet for my taste and gives you one hell of a headache) I’m still interested in the process and want to try making it. All you do is mix ca. 4 parts of water and 1 part honey and let it sit. If the honey is raw, it will apparently have yeasts in it. If it’s pasteurized (which is what I happened to have in the house) you need to get the wild yeast that’s flying around to land on the mix and let it do the work.

Which takes a lot longer and involves a ton of stirring.

Which is what I’m doing right at this moment.

I also put some fruit bits in it, because, as far as I know, there are also yeasts on the surfaces of fruits with edible skins, so that might also help with getting the fermentation started. However, because of the small batch, the surface area is pretty big relative to the volume involved, so this might work out just fine.

For full disclosure’s sake, I’m making a very small batch, because I don’t have a big container and I have no idea what the fuck I would do with a gallon or more of a beverage I don’t even like.

This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

